Tekoa was originally built and opened around 1890. When the four-hole course on Western Avenue opened it was one of the first in Western Massachusetts. A Grand Clubhouse was added in 1911 on the property now owned by Westfield State University.
Donald Ross then redesigned the course and made it nine holes in 1923. Five of those holes still remain intact today. The original Ross holes are 2, 3, 4, 14 and 15. The features of those holes still remain very intact. The other four holes are still visible on the south side of Route 20, which abuts up to Western Avenue and Stanley Park.
Famous Western Massachusetts architect Geoffrey Cornish redesigned Tekoa in 1961; he left five of Ross’s original holes and added 13 gems of his own. The Cornish layout was designed by him and built by Conlin Construction.
A plan completed in 2006 added approximately 400 yards to the already challenging layout. A complete bunker renovation was achieved in early 2006 and the bunkers on the golf course were made more visible, especially from the teeing area. The bunker project also themed up the Ross and Cornish holes making the whole course feel complete and connected.